Halfway there, livin’ on a prayer…

Whole30: Day 16

Over halfway through….and I’m fine. Really. I made it through the long weekend unscathed!

Well, for the most part. I’ve found the best way to avoid temptation is to…well avoid pretty much everything. I’ve spent a good part of the last few weeks a) hiding out in my apartment, or b) in close proximity to a me-friendly grocery store. Not too much chance of being tempted when you’re surrounded by soy-everything.

I did do some fun things, I went to the movies with Husband-of-the-future. It was fun, really it was loads of fun.

But, well…

I don’t know that I can adequately express the utter frustration and personal hell that comes from going to the movies and being unable to eat popcorn.

 

maurice-moss-eating-popcorn-the-it-crowd

I think the worst part was that the people in the movie also went to see a movie and OF COURSE they got popcorn, because they’re humans.

The fictional people got popcorn and I couldn’t have popcorn.

Or candy.

Or soda.

Or beer.

It drove me to the brink of insanity.

Just the brink mind you, I do have SOME self-control…though I did almost lose my mind in the grocery store last week.

Last week after some miscommunication and poor planning on my part, I found myself downtown at dinner time with no secret stash. Of course I was RAVENOUS. So I ran to Whole Foods, because they’ve saved my skin in a pinch many times the last few weeks.

Those bastards. I scoured the hot bar for half an hour, and the salad bar for another half an hour; there  was NOTHING that I could eat.

You’re probably thinking “she’s just being picky, grab whatever.”

I was NOT being picky; I was willing to go for anything and there  was NOTHINGGGG.

The salad bar was overrun with cranky people at the end of their work day, I couldn’t even get a GLANCE at the fresh veggies, and the hot bar was filled with items containing *gulp* DAIRY!

It was utter torture. I seriously almost lost my cool like an exhausted toddler.

tumblr_lin0qq5chj1qaleq1

I did find something to eat: a pile of dried fruit and beef jerky…yeah I was not happy.

But I survived!

I’m beginning to see this less as a “lifestyle reset” and more as a battle of wills….Who will win?

I will, I will win.

Leave a Reply

