Oh the agony that is food envy…

Whole30: Day 9

I had a lot of predictions about how I would be feeling around now. Twitchy, hangry, desperate, etc…

The surprising thing is that I feel relatively fine. Sure, I’m still adjusting, but overall I’m pretty used to this whole endeavor.

Hooray! I’m stronger than I thought!

That’s a nice surprise amongst a few less nice ones. Mainly, food cravings up the wazoo.

Actually, craving isn’t quite the right word. I was expecting cravings, everybody gets those. No, this is like a deep longing, within my very soul. And it’s not the food I was expecting either; not cheese or beer or peanut butter…

It’s bread.

tumblr_n8o6lzng2d1rsadwno1_500

I. ACHE. FOR. BREAD.

Seriously, it’s begun haunting my dreams. Over the weekend I dreamt that my mom was on a burgling spree (it was a big misunderstanding, that’s not important), and I was the getaway driver. The only reason I agreed to get in the drivers seat was that I could drive AND eat the loaf of bread I was clutching for dear life. I crashed her beautiful vintage car into a mini-golf course, and I didn’t care, as long as the bread was ok! What!?

Anyway.

I have always enjoyed bread, but I pretty much enjoy any food I eat. It’s only after sacrificing bread that I realize how deeply integrated it is into my regular routine. I cannot count the number of times in the last week I’ve thought “ooh! Toast for breakfaaoh wait…” or looked with longing for a roll to eat with my soup. Any time I think about grabbing lunch if I’m sick of leftovers, my first thought is “I could go that place and get a sandwiioohh wait…”

Suddenly, bread is all I want, and it’s FRIGGIN. EVERYWHERE.

I see people with sandwiches (from subway, no less) and I want to rend garments.

tumblr-n418p0nyqt1txdmbyo1-500

Did you know there are entire restaurants that have named themselves after bread? Let that sink in for a minute: there is a store that’s just called “bread” in Italian, and there’s one that’s called “good bread” in French. WHAT IS THAT ABOUT??? Hell, some stores ONLY sell bread. I mean it, ALL THEY SELL IS BREAD. ARE THEY TRYING TO TORTURE ME!?

When I think back to the lead-up to this little hellscape and what I expected to learn about myself, the fact that I would practically go to pieces at the sight of a baguette in a bakery window definitely wasn’t on my list.

Hopefully, this is a temporary thing, I’ll adjust and then it will go away. Right? It’ll go away, it HAS TO GO AWAY.

Oh please please please great kabbalah monster, make it go awaayyyyyyy.

Leave a Reply

