Hello Sweet Potato Soup!

Whole30 Begins: T-minus 4 days

Continuing in my quest to be prepared for the hellstorm that I am voluntarily bringing down upon myself, I made a huge vat of sweet potato soup.

You may be wondering; why sweet potato? What was my nuanced decision path here?

Like most humans, it came from a fairly straightforward place: I had a bag of sweet potatoes, I wasn’t going to use the sweet potatoes, so I made the sweet potatoes into soup.

I bought them yesterday for an alterna-shepherd’s pie I’m planning on trying, and since I’m a spaz I completely forgot that my husband-of-the-future (name changed per his request, and it must be said with the Christopher Lloyd voice) hates sweet potatoes. Since I’m already kind-of-sort-of inconveniencing him by depriving my household of cheese (CHEESE!? God I’m a monster), I figured the least I could do was scrap the sweet potato and make a dinner that he will actually enjoy.

So, I’m using the sweet potatoes to start my own food stash that I can break out in emergencies. For instance, what if husband-of-the-future goes nuts and says if he doesn’t have chinese take-out –which I can’t eat– right here and now he will die. Who am I to deprive him?

Plus, while I enjoy cooking, I’m pretty sure the novelty of making 99% of my own meals is going to wear off VERY fast. First, I will burn with resentment, then I will cook said resentment into every thing I consume, then I will go mad with rage and try to do something absurd, like set the stove on fire without even seeing the irony. 

Yes, having a stash of stuff I can just heat and eat in a pinch seems much safer.

I’ve never made sweet potato anything before, but one reason I picked the soup is it’s really hard to screw up (I shall restate that, given how challenging the next 30 days will be, I’m all about hassle-free right now). 

It really was easy; so easy that after looking through a few recipes I just decided to wing it. The sweet potatoes get peeled, cut, tossed in cooking fat, then boiled in milk and water and pureed. After that you add whatever spices you want and let it simmer on the stove.

The weirdest part of the process for me was adding (gasp!) coconut milk instead of plain old milk.

I’ve never bought coconut milk before; I spent about 10 minutes reading labels at the grocery store to be sure that the stuff I bought has no dairy or sugar, both of which are strictly off-limits for the time being. I actually went as far as to taste the coconut milk before sticking it in with the potatoes to make sure it wasn’t sweet.

For the record, tasting it was a huge mistake; this stuff tastes vile. At least, I think so. Here’s where I admit that the big health trend where you drink straight coconut water to SUPER hydrate yourself completely confounds me; I find the taste and the texture of both substances pretty revolting. But that’s just me, to each her own.

Yes I hate the stuff, but since I can’t have dairy for the next 30 days, I am forced to rely on this crazy alien goo liquid (seriously, any time I see it that is ALL I can think). I dumped it in and prayed the goo taste wouldn’t overpower the other ingredients.

Happily, the finished product tastes really good, and it’s GORGEOUS. I may get really sick of this soup in a few weeks, but at this particular moment I have one reaction: DAMN.

I’ll probably make a lot more of this soup over the next few weeks. I may end up throwing it out of the window in utter frustration after eating it a billion times, but for now, yay private stash!

By the way, I’d like to apologize in advance if any of the food I throw out the window in a fit of blinding rage hits you in the face…not that I’m going to do that, I am a very composed person.

Really.

Anyway, I included the recipe below if you want to give it a try.

Lessons learned:

Sweet potato soup is awesome

Sweet potato soup is totally my color

Sweet potato MERCIFULLY masks the taste of coconut milk

Sweet Potato Soup Recipe:

2-3 tablespoons cooking fat (I used ghee)

1 tsp garlic powder

1 tsp onion powder

5 sweet potatoes, peeled and chopped

2 cups coconut milk

3 cups water

Salt and pepper

Optional: 1 clove chopped garlic and 1 chopped onion

Melt the fat in a large pot over medium heat. Add sweet potatoes and stir until they are covered in the fat. Add the garlic and onion powder and stir until fragrant (note: if you want you can also add chopped garlic and onions, just saute them with the fat before adding the sweet potatoes, but this is optional). Cover with two cups coconut milk and three cups water. Cook until the sweet potatoes are soft. Puree the mixture in a blender or food processor (you may need to do this in batches), return mixture to pot and let it simmer until it reaches the desired thickness. Add salt and pepper to taste.

Leave a Reply

