Making the ghee is the fun part

Whole30 Begins: T-minus 5 days

After I decided to participate in this whole30 fool’s errand, I did something I don’t normally do:

I bought the book.

You’re probably thinking “there’s a book?”

Of course there’s a book.

Starting a diet like this one is a bit like being indoctrinated into a cult, so of course there is a book FULL of information,  and I learned a lot of crazy things. For instance, while I’m doing this I’m not allowed to chew gum.

I love chewing gum.

I also learned that prep is really important. If you just say “I’m starting now!” without even reading what the hell whole30 is, chances are you’ll quit.

I don’t want to quit.

I’m not exactly jumping for joy at the prospect of the next month, but I’m not ready to give up before I’ve even tried, so prep it is!

One thing I’m not looking forward to is white-knuckling my way through dairy withdrawal, which after scouring the official whole30 website and the book, I have learned is strictly off-limits, except for ghee, that is.

Wait…what exactly is ghee?

Thanks to google and the blogger wellnessmama, I now know that ghee is butter that is has been clarified to remove the dairy cultures. It has a stronger flavor than regular butter, it’s better for you, and it’s WHOLE30 APPROVED!

While I can’t exactly eat it with a spoon, I can use it to cook pretty much everything, plus it’s a ridiculously pretty substance, and I am ALL about the aesthetics.

Unfortunately on my next trip to the grocery store, I discovered that stuff is EXPENSIVE. But, again thanks to google, I found out that making your own ghee is ridiculously easy. Since the next month is going to be hella hard, I’ll take easy wherever I can.

I’d never clarified butter before, and I was really worried it would be complicated (break out ceremonial butter knife, offer sacrifice to dairy gods, hop on one foot), but it’s not.

Hooorayyyy!

Here’s all I had to do: I bought a pound of unsalted butter and a pack of cheese cloth, I cut the butter into smaller pieces, stuck it in a pot and turned the stove to medium heat. Then I let it cook. When it was done I strained it, and stuck it in a jar.

Seriously, that’s it.

Turns out watching butter cook is fun. I did have to fight all of my conventional cooking instincts that were screaming “stir it! Stir the butter dammit! STIRRR ITTTTTTT!!!!” but other than that it was easy.

Making ghee takes about 15 minutes, and it goes through several phases; first the butter foams, then it bubbles, then it foams again. I knew it was done when I saw reddish brown flecks floating in the liquid, then I poured it through a metal strainer lined with cheese cloth.

Unfortunately I stuck the ghee in a plastic container to cool that was not QUITE up to the challenge. Thankfully I was still busy marveling at how beautiful ghee is, so I was able to transfer it to a glass jar before anything catastrophic happened, this time anyway.

Yeah this month is going to go well.

Lessons Learned:

Ghee is pretty

Ghee is fun to make

Piping hot ghee should not go in a plastic container.

Leave a Reply

